1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[wmtech] User Self Delete Lite - Installation / Upgrade & Usage Instructions

Discussion in 'Other [WMTech] Add-Ons' started by wmtech, Jan 25, 2015.

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wmtech

    wmtech WMTech Staff XF Licensee

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    15
    Welcome to WMTech Quality Add-Ons!
    We care about our products!

    This is the manual and installation guide for our [WMTech] User Self Delete LITE product.
    If you are looking for instructions about our [WMTech] User Self Delete PRO product, please take a look >>here<< because they are different!


    AUTOMATIC INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:

    We recommend the use of an automated installation and upgrade system.
    Two of them are available for free to download at xenforo.com:
    Please try one of them!


    MANUAL INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:
    1. Download the add-on from our products section after licensing it for your forum(s). Please note, that we are enforcing our license. Please do not download, if you don't agree to it!
    2. Upload everything from the "upload" directory in our software package into your web servers forum directory.
    3. Install "addon-userselfdeletelite-1xx.xml" in your Xenforo ACP (ACP > Home > Install Add-On).
    4. Access "ACP > Home > Options > [WMTech] User Self Delete LITE" to check and setup the options of this add-on.
    5. Access "ACP > Users > User Group Permissions". Select the user group you wish to assign user self delete control. There is one permission that needs to be set and it is located in the section named 'General Permissions':
      • [WMTech] Delete own account
        Set this to "Allow" to allow deletion of own account
    Now you can enjoy our add-on at your board!


    UPGRADE INSTRUCTIONS:
    1. Download the new version from the add-on from our products section after licensing it for your forum(s). You may need to relicense even free add-ons, if your last version is older than 6 months. Please note, that we are enforcing our license. Please do not download, if you don't agree to it!
    2. Upload everything from the "upload" directory in our software package into your web servers forum directory overwriting all existing files with the new ones!
    3. Go to your Xenforo "ACP > Home > List Add-Ons" and select "[WMTech] User Self Delete LITE". At the dropdown arrow on the right, choose "Upgrade Add-On". A pop-up appears and let you select the XML file "addon-userselfdeletelite-1xx.xml" we provide in the upgrade software package.
    4. Access "ACP > Home > Options > [WMTech] User Self Delete LITE" to check existing options and setup any new options of this add-on.
    5. Access "ACP > Users > User Group Permissions". Select the user group you wish to check user self deletion control and check the permissions.
    This completes an upgrade process and refreshes your board with the enhanced power of a new version.

    Special Upgrade Instructions:
    • Version 1.1.1
      The add-on moves to a new path location after installing version 1.1.1 or greater. If you used a version smaller than 1.1.1 prior to the upgrade you can manually remove the old directory from your server, because it is not longer used. The old directory to be removed is "/library/UserSelfDelete".


    ADMIN MANUAL:

    Available Options in ACP:
    Home > Options > [WMTech] User Self Delete LITE
    • Contact Information for Users during the Grace Period
      The explanation text on the "Delete Your Account" page for your users provides a contact link so that deleted users can contact you. If left blank this will use the default settings from the Basic Board Information options. If the contact URL is an e-mail address, be sure to prefix it with "mailto:". Default: System contact setting
      PLEASE NOTE: A user with a pending deletion process cannot access any pages at your site (even not "Contact"). This is why we recommend to use an e-mail address.

    • Grace Period (days)
      Set the period of time that the user or the admin has time to cancel the account deletion. At the end of the grace period the account will be deleted automatically.
      Default: 3, Min: 1, Max: 180

    Available Administrator Information in ACP:
    Tools > Logs > Pending User Deletion Log
    • See all currently pending requested user account deletions

    Available Permissions in ACP:
    Users > Permissions > User Group Permissions
    Users > Permissions > User Permissions
    • [WMTech] Delete own account
      Select "Allow" to allow this user group or this user to delete his own account.

    Available Phrases and Templates in ACP:
    Appearance > Templates
    • All public templates of this add-on start with "wmt_usd_" The name of the templates is self-explanatory.
    Appearance > Template Modifications
    • This add-on uses template modifications in addition to template hooks. All template modifications are VERY IMPORTANT for this add-on to be able to work. They are designed for the default style only! If you use any custom style, please check if all modifications have been applied correctly by looking at the numbers in the right column of the line with the modification name. If there is a grey or red number, the modification could not be applied thus making this add-on functionless. Contact us or your style designer to solve those issues!
    Appearance > Phrases
    • All phrases of this add-on start with "wmt_usd_" The name of he phrases is self explanatory.
    Development > Admin Templates (only available in "Debug Mode")
    • All admin templates of this add-on start with "wmt_usd_" The name of the templates is self-explanatory.


    USER MANUAL:

    The user of your XenForo forum is presented with a new link in his account settings and his account navigation drop down reading "Delete Your Account".

    If the user clicks this link, he can read an information about deleting his account and what will change or not change after deletion. Eg. he will be informed that all written and uploaded content will stay even after the deletion of his account. If you opted to change the attribution of all content, he will be informed about that also.

    He will further be informed that his account will stay in a "Pending Deletion" state for the period of time you set up in the options ("Grace Period"). During this state he cannot access any areas at your site and cannot perform any action at all. But he can cancel the deletion request any time during this period.

    To perform the deletion request the user is asked about a reason for his deletion request and his password for confirmation.

    To perform a cancelation of the pending deletion request the user is asked about his password for confirmation.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page